© copyright Parminder Singh, courtesy of www.skylinepictures.com
NATAS Cleveland Regional Chapter News

Fall 2004

35th Annual Cleveland Regional Chapter’s Emmy Awards and Silver Circle Celebration a Truly Memorable Event

Over 400 hundred television professionals from Northern Ohio, Indiana and Pennsylvania gathered on Saturday, September 18th to celebrate their achievements at the 35th Annual Cleveland Regional Chapter Emmy Awards held at Cleveland State University Convocation Center in downtown Cleveland. The weather was absolutely perfect for the gala evening which was truly a night to remember. The festivities began in the elegantly decorated Convocation Center at 5:00 PM with cocktails and a gourmet dinner, which was followed by an awards presentation produced by EventWorks Inc. Click Here to view the Awards Show Opener produced by Cox Communications (9.7MB). Click Here to view the Awards Show Opener for 56K modems (770KB).


The Convocation Center proved to be a very elegant venue.

Guests, who entered the building on a red carpet, were treated to music from a live band during theshow, which was later broadcast on Cox Communications and Adelphia cable systems throughout Northeast Ohio. The theme for this year’s Awards show was “This Program Approved by Emmy.” Award recipients were given the star treatment with complimentary photos taken with their awards backstage and videotaped interviews conducted by students from Westlake High School, which were later televised on Cox Communications and Adelphia cable. The stellar audience was entertained by guest emcee Michael Essany of the E-Channel’s Michael Essany Show, who brought laughter with humorous stories of his experiences as a young talk show host.

Cleveland Regional Chapter’s National Trustee Bob Hammer and his wife visit with Guest Emcee Michael Essany, of
The Michael Essany Show, and his girlfriend, Christa.

In addition to awarding the coveted Emmy statue, the National Television Academy also honored members of the Silver Circle. This year’s Silver Circle inductees were Kent Geist of ideastreamsm (the parent company of WVIZ/PBS and 90.3 WCPN) and Bob Anderson of Classic Worldwide Productions. Kent Geist, currently Director of Marketing and Development, has been on the staff of WVIZ since January 1968.

Kent has been responsible for raising seven of the ten million dollar operating budget for WVIZ including individual giving, membership, major giving, endowment, Foundation support, Corporate support, Capital Campaign, WVIZ Annual Fundraising Auction, Special Fundraising Projects, Advertising and Promotion and WVIZ Store of Knowledge.


Bob Anderson has produced and directed television productions for more than 25 years. During the last two decades his travels for television production have taken him to more than 70 nations around the world.

The Chapter’s scholarship winners were also honored during the Awards show. The three winners were Ryan Pritt from Suffield, Ohio, who is the PA announcer for the Cleveland Barons and the Mahoning Valley Scrappers minor league baseball team; Erica Washum from Indianapolis, who overcame dyslexia to play a key role in producing a youth TV program; and Erica Miller from Hudson, Ohio, who participated in an amazing array of activities and interned behind the scenes and in front of the camera at Cleveland’s WB.

Scholarship Committee Chair Dave Cockley with scholarship winners Erica Miller and Ryan Pritt.

The entire evening held a true Hollywood flavor and the Chapter is looking forward to next year's Awards Show. Plans are already in the works for the 36th Annual Emmy Awards.


NTA Mourns the Passing of Steve Wisinski

Many of you may already know the sad news about our former board member Steve Wisinski of WKYC. It is with much regret that we inform all of you that Steve passed away last week. He had recently assumed his new position in Chicago at WBBM and suddenly became gravely ill. Steve is survived by his wife Francine and their young son. Please keep his family in your thoughts.

Contributions in Steve's memory may be sent to: Ohio Tuition Trust Authority, c/o Ben Wisinski College Fund, WKYC-TV, 1333 Lakeside Avenue, Cleveland, OH 44114.

Indians Production Manager to Helm International Association

Cleveland Indians Manager of Ballpark Productions, Steve Warren, was elected President of the Information Display and Entertainment Association (IDEA) at the organizations annual conference, held this year in Pittsburgh, PA from July 11 – 14. He will serve a two-year term presiding over all association business and their annual conference.

IDEA is an international association of electronic display system, scoreboard, event presentation and marketing professionals. Founded in 1982, IDEA is comprised of members representing sports teams from the NBA, NFL, NHL, and Major League Baseball; minor league teams in all sports; universities; public and private facilities; manufacturers and suppliers worldwide. IDEA encompasses all branches of the sports, convention and facilities industries including arenas, casinos, convention centers, race tracks, stadiums and universities. The purpose of IDEA is to foster and cultivate the professional, educational, creative and technical standards of its members. Through its newsletter, special research projects, awards programs, standing committees and annual conference, IDEA provides a forum for its members to discuss and exchange information on all aspects of the electronic display industry.

Mr. Warren is in his 11th season in this capacity with the Tribe, joining the Indians organization prior to the opening of Jacobs Field in 1994. The Indians have been a member organization of IDEA since January of 1994.

“I’m very fortunate to work for a world-class organization in an outstanding facility,” Warren remarked. “I’m grateful that I have supervisors who understand the value of our membership in IDEA and have allowed and encouraged me to participate and grow within the Association and the industry.”

Prior to being elected President of the association, Warren served on the Golden Matrix Award committee for several years and as its Chairman for the past two. The GMAs are the industry’s top honor, recognizing outstanding accomplishments in production and creativity and are awarded annually at the IDEA Conference. During this year’s GMA awards presentation, before the election results were announced, Warren was called to the podium and presented with the President’s Award for outstanding service to the organization.

For more information on IDEA, contact Liz Brown 1-888-832-IDEA


National Television Academy Newsletter Now On-Line

© 2004 NTA Cleveland Regional Chapter